Image

Equine Deja vu

This Highland pony may be familiar – it was commissioned after my friend’s mum saw the artwork I created for her daughter’s birthday and uses the same reference photos which were taken by her family.

Missy in Pastels version 2.0

Missy in Pastels version 2.0

I hope that there has been even a small improvement in the way I handle pastels, because the first portrait I did of Missy was the first time I had used pastels and I’ve had a bit of practice now.

My friend got me some vouchers for art supplies for my birthday earlier this month. I need to have a think about how best to spend them. My tabletop easel is on it’s last legs and needs replacing – ideally with something that will support larger pieces on. I also want to upgrade my pastels and try out some rougher papers to allow me to work in more layers. So I’ll have fun shopping.

I got a great book on pastels from my husband for my birthday which I’m reading at the moment, hopefully I’ll be able to try out some new techniques soon.

I’ve started work on a quick fun project for the monthly Paint My Photo challenge for October. A bit last minute and out of my comfort zone because I’ve never created anything abstract. But I’m enjoying just playing with bold colours even if the final result isn’t a winner.

Next up, I’ve got a few gifts and gift commissions that I won’t be able to share on this blog until they are received. Hopefully I’ll also have time to experiment with gouache, create a pastel portrait of my border collie and work on branding and illustration for my art business.

Leave a Reply

