Image

Paint My Photo… of Cadair Idris

I’ve submitted this for the September panoramic mountain scenery challenge over on Paint My Photo. I’m not 100% happy with it, but I’m just noodling flakes of pastel around trying to get them to stick now, so I may as well move onto the next project. So we’ll call it finished, shall we?

Photographing Cadair Idris over Llyn Cau, Snowdonia. Soft pastel and Pastel Pencil 80.5cm x 16.5 cm

Photographing Cadair Idris over Llyn Cau, Snowdonia. Soft pastel and Pastel Pencil 80.5cm x 16.5 cm

The main references I used for the is photo were The Photographer by Sharon Whitley (of Gary Jones) and this stunning shot of Llyn Cau and Cadair Idris by Gary Jones.

I don’t know if both photos were taken at the same time and place, but they fitted together so well I hope they were. To fit them both in the same panoramic scene, I needed to alter the perspective of Cadair Idris, so I found two further photographs of the mountain by Gary and Sharon helpful. I even put in the sheep, though obviously they are very small in my painting.

Here are a couple of close ups on the detailed areas though now I look at the first one I’ve accidentally lightened it too much when I was preparing it for uploading:

Can you spot the three sheep?

Can you spot the three sheep? They are tiny!

Detail of Photographer Gary Jones

Detail of Photographer Gary Jones

I find it hard to get in fine detail at this scale in pastel using my current materials but I enjoy the challenge. Maybe I’ll be able to treat myself to some new materials for my birthday!

I’ve got a couple of Pet portrait commissions up next so that’s different again, and then I have a present to work on, and if the October Paint My Photo challenge captures my interest then I’ll likely want to attempt that too. So a busy month ahead, do you have projects stacking up ahead of you too?

I’ll leave you with me experimenting with digitally with blending out the paper join, and adding a digital frame:

Soft Pastel and Pastel Pencils 80.5cm x 16.5 cm with digital frame.

Soft Pastel and Pastel Pencils 80.5cm x 16.5 cm with digital frame.

Posts about this piece in progress

Leave a Reply

