Image

Tay Rail Bridge with Pastels

Tay Rail Bridge from Dundee

Tay Rail Bridge from Dundee

I quite like how it turned out with the pastels. I tried not to over work it so didn’t add much, I didn’t want to take away from the lovely translucency of the watercolour where it was working well. I lightened up the sky a little, tried to play light on the water and added some contrast and texture to the wall and path in the foreground to give it some solidity. I kept feeling I ought to add more detail to the rail bridge but at this scale I found it difficult to add anything, and I needed to zoom in on the bridge in my reference photo to pick up the detail so it probably shouldn’t be there!

I love the scrumptiousness of seeing all the pastel colours laid out so I’ll give you another workspace shot. All the pretty colours!

Workspace with fabulous pastels

Workspace with fabulous pastels

Leave a Reply

